Class of 1988

This year celebrated the centennial of East Troy High School's first graduating class. A special invitation was extended to all graduates for the Homecoming game. There were specified areas in the stands for the various decades of alumni. The Centennial Celebration Committee also organized a special section for representative alumni at the graduation ceremony. These alumni were individually recognized at the event.
The highlights of this class often featured talented athletes and acclaimed sports' seasons. The year began with the girls' tennis team being the Western Division Champs with an undefeated season, and they rolled to a third place conference finish. Some of the members of this team were Heidi Sternberg, Michelle Wilson, Callie Whiting, Margie Manley, and Amy Storlie. Girls' volley ball also had a tremendous season losing only to Salem for the conference title. They went on to be the Regional and Sectional Champions earning a berth at the State Meet. The team tied for third place with Hayward. A few members were Ruth VanBeek, Kristie Baker, Lynn Markham, Jennie Zimmerman, Kim Meyer, and Lisa Adamski. The girls' cross country team sent their first contestants to state: Michelle Kopecky and Rachel Sherman. Throughout the season the team placed first or second in all invitationals. Two football players were honored on the first team Western Division: Kevin Wachal and Mike Wollenhaup.
The winter season continued the winning tradition with the wrestling team posting an 8-0 conference record and a first place finish at the Conference Tournament. This was the seventh conference win. The team went on to be the State Class B Champion team through the efforts of four participants. Tom Larson, first place, Dan Paullen, sixth place, Chris Reimer, third place, and Paul Brehm, second place earned 61 team points. This also was the final year for Coach John Stockowitz as head wrestling coach. Four Lady Trojans were recognized for their fine basketball skills: Jenny O'Connell, Ruth VanBeek, Lisa Adamski, and Lynn Markham.
Spring was no different. The boys' tennis team were the Conference Champs. Two of the members were Mike Kubicki and Rodney Heckman. The baseball team won the first game of the regional play. And the oldest record of track was broken by Larry Chapman in the 1600 m run. Boys' and girls' track was well represented in the state meet by Larry Chapman in the 800 m run, Mike Wollenhaup in the high and intermediate hurdles, Paul Brehm in the pole vault, and Lynn Markham in the Triple Jump.
But there was more happening throughout the year in many other areas. Two young men, Brian Baker and Mike Wells attended the National FFA Convention which featured speaker Vice-President George Bush. The Industrial Technology department built storage sheds, which were sold to the public. The Swing Band performed at the groundbreaking ceremony for the South Industrial Park. The drama department performed Bye Bye Birdie with Conrad Birdie played by Roy Smalley. World History participated in an archeological simulation. Two teams competed and a museum of their findings was displayed during the Parents' Conferences. A variety show was organized by the Cooperative Speech Class. The East Troy Repertoire Dance Group featured Mike Kubicki, Mike Wollenhaup, Alex Aristides and Jay Kersting in their version of The Nutcracker Suite. But this outstanding group only placed second to the faculty group Peter, Paul and the Raisinettes in their clever raisin costumes performing to the music Heard it through the Grapevine.
Twenty-six forensics members advanced to the State Meet. Two earned gold medals at the meet: Roy Smalley in a solo acting performance and Chad Haines for his four-minute speech. At the VICA State Technical Skill meet Dave Robinson placed second in Architectural Design and Dave Niehus in Carpentry. Business Ed. Skill Olympics had three first place finishers: Keith Dopke, accounting; Bill Johnson, Merchandising Math, and Amy Ubick, typing.
The officers for the class were Jim Johnson, president, Dave Robinson, vice president, Shawn McCarthy, treasurer, and Lynn Markham, secretary. The colors chosen were Black and Yellow. Valedictory honors went to John Mattioli and salutatory honors to Tom Larson.

Back to Class Page